Cathrine Nash

April 5, 2012

Catherine Nash
There are such rich, lustrous effects one can achieve with encaustics, results that serve imagery from realism through abstraction.  I’ve created with encaustic since 1994 and have fallen in love with its potential of surface, depth, color and translucency. While we’ll learn and practice and experiment painting with pigmented molten waxes on wood panels, the versatile techniques can be utilized on clay, paper and fiber.  We’ll thoroughly learn from the basics on, including more advanced techniques in color inlay, collage and assemblage.  In my personal work, I’ve been seeking finesse of brushwork in lost and found edges, luminous glazing and color interaction as well as encaustic work on and of paper.  Previous and intermediate students very welcome! I’d love to share what I know with you.

Student feedback for Catherine Nash

“Excellent information and supervision and discussion about encaustics. Truly, my mind is spinning with all the information and the new discoveries. You are a born teacher.”

“Your patience, knowledge and clear directions were a joy to experience.”

“I really enjoyed the experience of you, your teaching methods, your positive attitude, your sense of humor and your smile.  I look forward to another class with you in the future.”

Catherine Nash will be teaching an intensive workshop from April 26-29th entitled “The World of Encaustics” for R&F Paints at the Sedona Arts Center. 

For workshop details and registration information click here.

Leave a comment